As of January 2022, the minimum wage in California is $14 per hour for employers who have up to 25 employees. For those that have at least 26 employees, the minimum hourly wage is $15 per hour. Some cities and counties have higher rates in place.
Another wage and hour law firmly in place in California has to do with overtime. While some people think this higher rate of pay only goes into effect if a person works at least 40 hours in a week, that’s not the only provision for overtime in this state.
When is an employee due overtime pay?
Overtime pay is due to the employee at a rate of 1.5 times their regular rate of pay. The employee is due this wage if they work more than eight hours in a regular workday or for a total of more than 40 hours in a workweek. Overtime is also due if the employee works more than six days in a row.
Some overtime pay is due at a rate of two times the regular rate of pay. This occurs when a person works more than 12 hours in a day. It also applies to all hours above eight if they work seven consecutive days in a single workweek.
Any employee who isn’t being paid the wages they’re due should ensure they take action to get their rightful pay. These cases can be complex so having someone on your side who’s familiar with these laws is beneficial. Be sure you act quickly because time limits apply in these cases.