Failure to Pay Minimum Wage
Effective January 1, 2022, the minimum wage is $15 per hour if you work for an employer with 26 or more employees. The minimum wage is $14 per hour if you work for an employer with 25 or fewer employees.
Some cities and counties in California require a higher minimum wage than the statewide minimum wage. These cities and counties include Berkeley, Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Jose, and San Mateo.
Here are some additional things you should know about minimum wage laws in California:
- Employers may pay less than the minimum wage to employees under the age of 18, but some exceptions apply. For instance, employers must pay the minor at least the minimum wage if the minor has graduated from high school or has received a certificate of proficiency.
- Employers may pay less than the minimum wage to mentally or physically disabled employees so long as the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement has issued a special license to the disabled employee.
- Employers who provide meal and lodging to employees may deduct specified amounts from the minimum wage. However, among other requirements, employers must obtain prior written consent from employees in such circumstances.
If you believe that your employer has failed to pay you the minimum wage, call 916-612-0326 or email Finley Employment Law today.